Go to top of page

<div class="field-name-table-of-contents"></div>

In December 2009, the state and federal governments agreed to a new National Quality Framework (NQF) for early childhood education and care.

The NQF aims to raise the quality of education and care services and encourage continuous improvement so there are better outcomes for children. 

The NQF consists of three key elements:

The legislation

The National Quality Standard

  • Consists of seven quality areas
  • Includes a national quality rating and assessment process with five different rating levels

View the National Quality Standard

Approved learning frameworks

There are also guides for educators about these frameworks.

For more information about the National Quality Framework, see ACECQA’s website.