Schools Registration

A school at which education services (courses of instruction in primary or secondary education) are provided, or students enrolled, must be registered. Under the Education and Early Childhood Services (Registration and Standards) Act 2011 (s. 41), the Board is responsible for keeping a register of all government and non-government schools and a register of schools that have been removed from the school register.

Applying for Registration

Schools are eligible for registration on the school register if the Board, on application made in accordance with the Act, is satisfied that:

  • the nature and content of the instruction offered, or to be offered, at the school is satisfactory; and
  • the school provides adequate protection for the safety, health and welfare of its students; and
  • the school satisfies any other requirements set out in the regulations.

Applications to register a new school must be made using the Application to register a new school in South Australia form.

All applications will be assessed by the ESB using the Standards for Registration and Review of Registration of Schools in South Australia.


The ESB has developed an Evidence Guide for Registration of New or Changed Schools. This is to assist schools or organisations with providing evidence to demonstrate the Standards for Registration and Review of Registration of Schools in South Australia.


Changes to Registration

Schools intending to make changes to their registration are required to complete the relevant sections  of the Application for Changes to registration of a school in South Australia form and submit relevant evidence prior to the change occurring.

Changes include, but are not limited to:

  • Change of school name
  • Changes to school campus
  • Change of school location
  • Changes to year levels
  • Change to Governing or Responsible authority
  • Amalgamation


The Non-Government Schools Planning Policy (2017)

On 10 July 2017 the responsibilities under the Non-Government Schools Planning Policy (2017) were transferred to the Education Standards Board by the Minister for Education and Child Development.

The policy aims to ensure that reasonable planning requirements are applied to all proposals to establish a new or significantly changed non-government school that is seeking State Government funding to support their operation.

The Non-Government Schools Planning Policy (2017) criteria align with the Standards for Registration and Review of Registration of Schools in South Australia (Standards1.2 and 2.11). Applications will be assessed using the Standards.

The Non-Government Schools and Services Unit (NGSSU) will be responsible for the administration of funding approvals and monitoring compliance with school Funding Deeds.

Further details are in The Non-Government Schools Planning Policy (2017)


Other School Related Organisations

South Australian Government Schools

Department for Education and Child Development (DECD) –

DECD manages South Australia’s public education system, including the provision of local family day care, preschool education, children’s centres, out of school hours care programs plus health and wellbeing services for families. Families SA is also part of DECD.

International Education Services (IES)
IES is the international unit of the Department for Education and Child Development (DECD) and recruits international students into government schools; delivers professional training for international education professionals; provides internship opportunities for international undergraduates and graduates; and manages the South Australian teacher and student exchange program.

South Australian Non-government Schools

Association of Independent Schools of South Australia (AISSA) –
AISSA is recognised as the peak body for the Independent school sector in South Australia.

Catholic Education South Australia (CESA)
The Catholic Education Office supports the work of Catholic Schools in South Australia and their communities.


Other South Australian Education Related Organisations

Teachers Registration Board
The TRB is a statutory authority providing registration for teachers.

SACE Board of SA
The SACE Board of South Australia is an independent statutory authority responsible for the accreditation of subjects, the recognition of learning and the assessment of student learning that contribute to meeting the completion requirements of the South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE).

Technical and Further Education South Australia (TAFE SA)
TAFE SA is the largest South Australian provider of vocational education and training (VET).


Commonwealth Government Organisations

Department of Education (Commonwealth)
The Australian Government Department of Education is responsible for national policies and programs that help Australians access quality and affordable child care; early childhood education, school education, post-school, higher education, international education and academic research.

Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA)
ASQA is the national regulator for the vocational education and training (VET) sector.

Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)
TEQSA is the independent national regulator of the higher education sector.

Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP)
DIBP issues student visas that allow people to come to Australia for a specified period to study at an Australian educational institution.